RobertAlter.Info

My Book Reviews

You can sort this table by clicking on the Column Labels

Author Title Rating Review Date

Matthew Mather

The Dystopia Chronicles (Atopia Series Book 2)


[ Kindle Edition ]

... out of 10

...

...

Matthew Mather

The Atopia Chronicles (Atopia Series Book 1)


[ Kindle Edition ]

8 out of 10

I enjoyed the story, especially because of the interesting ideas about the future of technology and virtual reality.

10/27/15

Anne Charnock

A Calculated Life


[ Kindle Edition ]

very good

Science Fiction

I liked it, very unusual, very interesting, a bit of a surprise ending which leaves open the possibility of a sequel

9/24/15

David Walton

Superposition


[ Kindle Edition ]

8 out of 10

Science Fiction. It is a Quantum Physics murder mystery.

Some interesting observations or speculations on why a person might like physics

unique as a murder mystery and as science fiction

I was about 43% into the book when the meaning of the chapter titles became clear

about 63% through I began to wonder if the Uncertainty Principle may exist in some form in the larger physical world, biological world, or the psychological. If it is a deep part of the nature of the cosmos perhaps it takes some form in every aspect of reality.

A very good attempt to make the very difficult concept of Quantum Uncertainty understandable and to bring it into the every day world we are familiar with.

9/18/15

Ralph Kern

Endeavour: A Sleeping Gods Novel


[ Kindle Edition ]

8 out of 10

Type: Hard Science Fiction

A very good "hard science" fiction story. Very interesting ideas. Very well grounded in science fact and no magic technologies. I would have given it 9 stars if there had not been the minor mistakes with proofreading.

This story reminds a little of Schismatrix By Bruce Sterling, and Ringworld by Larry Niven, and maybe even a bit of The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. Those things are positives as the story is completely original and different from those. Another plus is that it does not have all the violence of so many modern stories. The only negative was that the language was a bit sloppy in places, a missing word here and there, a few times an extra word that made no sense, and sometimes the wrong word such as wearily when warily was clearly what was meant. Some of it seemed to be sloppiness but some of it may have been misunderstanding of English or some odd or foreign usage. Perhaps it was just a case of poor proofreading, but that did not detract from the story or the ideas, although it would be nice if those hadn't been there, and I take off one point for that.

9/7/15

A. G. Howard

Splintered


[ Kindle Edition ]

8 out of 10

A very good story, well told, and well written. I enjoyed it!

Different and unusual. A modern, more complex, and a bit warped follow up to Alice in Wonderland. It is to Alice's Adventures In Wonderland as The Other Log of Phileas Fogg (by Philip José Farmer) is to Around the World in 80 Days.

3/9/15

Irving Belateche

Einstein's Secret


[ Kindle Edition ]

8 out of 10

I liked it, it was very good and very interesting, complex enough that I should read it again someday

2/9/15

Kevin Bohacz

Immortality


[ Kindle Edition ]

9 out of 10

Excellent science fiction and good food for thought.

4/22/15

Kevin Bohacz

Ghost of the Gods


[ Kindle Edition ]

9 out of 10

the sequel to Immortality

enjoyed it, a good story, food for thought

7/1/15

Bruce Sterling

Schismatrix Plus


[ Kindle Edition ]

9 out of 10

Finished the main story, Schismatrix (74% of the book). The rest is related short stories I think. This is a great story, lots of food for thought.

I finished the short stories, the Plus part of the book, and I liked them. They are interesting and take place in the same milieu or "reality" as the main story.

8/13/15

Copyright © 2015 Robert E. Alter. All Rights Reserved.